Back To School 1 - Page 23 - A LOVE OF READING THROUGHOUT THE SCHOOL YEAR (2)

Back To School 1
- Page 23
A LOVE OF READING THROUGHOUT THE SCHOOL YEAR (2)
all it’s own. Storytelling at its finest,” says Kelly.

We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices edited by Wade Hudson and Cheryl Willis Hudson (September)

A diverse mix of the best authors and illustrators working today offers a mix of poems, letters, personal essays, art and other works to answer the question of what we tell our children when the world seems bleak. The answer is to empower, inspire and rise up for a better tomorrow.

Harbor Me by Jacqueline Woodson

The sublime Woodson is back with another humane look at growing up. Six kids meet weekly to talk, with no adults present. They share their stories and realize that the chance to speak freely, allows them space to feel brave, and prepared for what the future may hold. “An insightful story of bravery and friendship, this is a book that speaks to young readers. The perfect next book for fans of Wonder and Hello Universe,” says Kelly.

The House That Lou Built by Mae Respicio (June)

Lou loves her big Filipino family, but she longs for some space of her own, and is determined to build a tiny house on land she inherited from her father – 100 square feet just for her. Lou soon discovers though that she will have to fight for her father’s land, and in the process truly learns the lessons of home and family.

Our Stories, Our Voices: 21 YA Authors Get Real About Injustice, Empowerment, and Growing Up Female in America Edited by Amy Reed

This collection includes 21 well-known YA writers, as they reflect on being female in America, and the intersection of race, religion, ethnicity and sexual orientation with all the joy, anger, reflection and regret that comes from growing up and moving out in the world. A pivotal collection for young girls.

Young Adult

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram (August)

A powerful story about a boy who has never felt a part of anything, until he visits Iran for an extended stay and meets the best friend he never thought he’d have. A powerful story about different cultures, loneliness and friendship.

Finding Yvonne by Brandy Colbert (August)

“Brandy Colbert’s first novel, Little & Lion, was one of my favorite books from 2017. She is a fabulous writer and tackles real teenage life problems with grace and candor,” says Lauren Nopenz Fairley, operations manager and YA book buyer at Curious Iguana. Finding Yvonne is a coming of age story about making difficult choices, and the sometimes bitter truth that life doesn’t always move in a straight line. Yvonne is a talented violinist, but as graduation quickly approaches she must reckon with her future. A new relationship throws a life-altering twist in her plans, and she is confronted with the most difficult decision of her life.

Pride by Ibi Zoboi (September)

Zoboi’s last novel American Street was a National Book Award finalist. Her latest is a reimagining of Pride and Prejudice. The headstrong Zuri, proud of her Afro-Latino heritage and her beloved Brooklyn neighborhood, gets her head turned when Darius Darcy moves in across the street. What is first disinterest and disgust, soon, like the classic, turns into something quite different. A timely update, with a strong message that love is the way.

Nine by Zach Hines (August)

A society where everyone is given nine lives and determined to burn them up as quickly as possible, but at what cost? Julius’s mother has a debilitating illness from“burning” her lives too fast, and he’s determined to find out why, but it’s hard to stay alive when the suicide club is after you. An original take on the dystopian genre that captivates teen readers.

The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby (August)

Wild for the YA set. Mari Turner is an internet star who “has it all,” before her conscience gets the best of her and she confesses to the less than perfect life she’s really leading. Her escape plan includes hiking the John Muir trail, where she’ll reckon with her grief and mistakes, and make new friends who help her find what’s been missing. •